Sun Tanning and After Care Tips


I think it is safe to say that June Gloom is finally behind us here in LA and I spent most of my day laying in my pool thinking about what I was going to write this evening. Summer is all about the beach, family vacations, pool parties and getting that perfect bikini bod.

I am a huge advocate of sunscreen, even when I am laying by the pool or at the beach in Malibu trying to get the deepest darkest tan possible, I wear a SPF15 on my body and a SPF60 on my face. I reapply both of these several times during the day. SPF is short for Sun Protection Factor and means wearing a sunscreen with SPF50, your skin will not burn until it has been exposed to 50 times the amount of solar energy that would normally cause the skin to burn. It is really important for your sunscreen to also offer both UVA and UVB protection. For a great article and more information about sunscreen go to this link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunscreen

Some sunscreens that I use personally and recommend are Ultra Sensitive Faceblock SPF25 from Dermalogica, Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion and Neutrogena Ultimate Sport SPF70 Sunblock Spray.

After a day at the beach, it is really important to make sure your skin is moisturized. The sun, chlorine and salt water remove the moisture from the skin causing us to have ashy and dull looking skin. The skin can even crack and blister from over exposure. After your shower, make sure you moisturize your skin with a body cream. Some of my favorites are the Body Hydrating Cream from Dermalogica, Lait-Creme Fluide from Embryolisse and Daily Replenishing Lotion from Eucerin. Apple liberally to body immediately after your shower on a damp body.

Have a fun and safe Summer.

Anthony Merante

http://www.anthonymerantebeauty.com

4 Responses to Sun Tanning and After Care Tips

  1. Nicole Romanelli says:

    Thanks for these sun tips! I have been using the Eucerin when I get out of the shower and am noticing a huge change in my skin. I am a busy mom of 2 girls and I ALWAY lather them up after a bath with lotion. Funny how we forget about ourselves until reminded.

  2. Anthony Merante says:

    Isn’t it funny how I mentioned June Gloom was behind us and this is the weather we have today?

  3. zaman says:

    Nice tips friends! very helpful
    I also want to sharing about beauty tips, please visit us!
    Beauty tips

    thanks .. πŸ™‚

  4. Airica says:

    Great Post!!!

    What kind of sunscreen do you recommend for dark skin? Or is it the same as listed above? How do you feel about spray tanning?

Leave a Reply

